Weihua Zhuang (莊衛華, 庄卫华)
Professor, PhD, FIEEE, FRSC, FCAE, FEIC, PEng
Tier I Canada Research Chair

Broadband Communications Research (BBCR) Group
Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering
University of Waterloo
200 University Avenue West
Waterloo, Ontario, Canada  N2L 3G1

Telephone: (519) 888-4567, Extension 35354
Department fax: (519) 746-3077
Email: wzhuang at uwaterloo dot ca
Home page: bbcr.uwaterloo.ca/~wzhuang
Office: EIT 4156

Weihua Zhuang received the B.Sc. and M.Sc. degrees from Dalian Maritime University, China, and the Ph.D. degree from the University of New Brunswick, Canada, all in electrical engineering. Since 1993, she has been a faculty member in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, University of Waterloo, Canada, where she is a Professor and a Tier I Canada Research Chair in wireless communication networks. Her current research focuses on network architecture, algorithms and protocols, and service provisioning in future communication systems, and on smart grid. She is the recipient of R.A. Fessenden Award in 2021 from IEEE Canada, Technical Recognition Award in Ad Hoc and Sensor Networks in 2017 from IEEE Communications Society, Outstanding Service Award in 2013 from IEEE Vehicular Technology Society, Premier's Research Excellence Award in 2001 from the Ontario Government, and several best paper awards from Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) conferences.

Dr. Zhuang is a Fellow of the IEEE, Royal Society of Canada (RSC), Canadian Academy of Engineering (CAE), and Engineering Institute of Canada (EIC). She is the Vice President - Publications and an elected member of the Board of Governors (BoG) of the IEEE Vehicular Technology Society. She was the Editor-in-Chief of IEEE Transactions on Vehicular Technology (2007-2013), an editor of IEEE Transactions on Wireless Communications (2005-2009), the Technical Program Committee (TPC) Chair/Co-Chair of IEEE Vehicular Technology Conference 2017 Fall and 2016 Fall, TPC Symposia Chair of the IEEE Globecom 2011, and an IEEE Communications Society Distinguished Lecturer (2008-2011).